Land cover of Eastern Alps

by Jakub Marian

Tip: See my list of the Most Common Mistakes in English. It will teach you how to avoid mis­takes with com­mas, pre­pos­i­tions, ir­reg­u­lar verbs, and much more.

The Eastern Alps are part of the Alps, the highest and most extensive mountain range system in Europe. The Eastern Alps include parts of Italy, Austria, Switzerland, Germany (Bavaria), Slovenia, and Liechtenstein.

The map below is based on data by the Copernicus Land Monitoring Service (CORINE 2012). It shows the Eastern Alps with colouring representing various types of land cover (such as forests, agricultural land, water, etc.). I have also made a corresponding map of the Western Alps.

There are several interesting features to notice that may not be obvious from a typical map:

  • The Bavarian Alps are separated from the rest of Germany by a strip of land (around 50 km wide) consisting of villages completely surrounded by meadows and small forests, which is a rather unusual configuration.
  • The river-shaped sand areas in the northeast of Italy are so-called braided rivers, which are usually incorrectly shown on maps as ordinary rivers.
Land cover of Eastern Alps

By the way, I have written several educational ebooks. If you get a copy, you can learn new things and support this website at the same time—why don’t you check them out?

Enter the discussion 0

Subscribe to my educational newsletter

to receive a weekly summary of new articles
Enter your email address below:
Please, enter a valid email address:
You tried to submit the form very quickly after opening this page. To confirm that you are a human, please, click on the button below again:
I will send you one of my ebooks for free as a little gift.